Facebook Twitter YouTube

Lords v Commons Pigeon Race

On Wednesday 13th June, the Royal Pigeon Racing Association will be releasing 650 birds from Bletchley Park in Milton Keynes at the Lords v Commons pigeon race. Each pigeon will be designated to an MP or Peer. Chairman of the All Party Parliamentary Pigeon Racing Group, Chris Davies MP, and Vice Chair, Chris Evans MP, will be in attendance along with Iain Stewart, MP for Milton Keynes South and Nigel Adams, MP for Selby and Alnsty.

90 years ago, the last Lords vs Commons race took place in the quadrangle of the House of Commons, the birds being released by Sir Cooper Rawson MP (below). Back then, pigeon racing was widely supported and respected by MPs and Peers, with a Lords v Commons race held every year. Fast forward to 2018 and this iconic race is being recreated to commemorate 100 years since the end of World War One.

The race will be raising funds for the ex-serviceman’s charity, Combat Stress, the UK’s leading charity for veterans’ mental health. The RPRA is encouraging MPs and Peers to sponsor a pigeon for the race, with all proceeds going to the charity Combat Stress.

The progress of the race can be tracked online on the RPRA’s website and the winner will be presented with a small trophy.

Ian Evans, Chief Executive of the RPRA, comments: ‘We are delighted to be recreating the Lords v Commons race with the All Party Parliamentary Pigeon Racing Group ninety years on. We hope this celebration will encourage MPs to reignite their support of pigeon racing and again make this an annual event.’


Tags: , , ,

Comments are closed.